Buhari Swears In New Ministers On Wednesday, INEC Boss, Commissioners, Monday

NEARLY six months after his inauguration, President Muhammadu Buhari is to inaugurate his cabinet on Wednesday. He is to preside over the first ever meeting on the Federal Executive Council (FEC) immediately after swearing-in of the ministers.

Senate President, Bukola Saraki submitted, last week to the president, a list of the last batch of the ministerial nominees cleared by the Senate. Buhari has said that in view of the precarious state of the nation's economy, many of the ministers will not be substantive ministers and so will be without portfolios even though they will sit in council.

The swearing-in of the ministers will signal the actual take-off of the Buhari's administration which has relied on permanent secretaries of ministries for the day-to-day running of the government up till now.

A statement issued on Sunday in Abuja by the Special Assistant to the president on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, said before the commencement of the inaugural session of the council, the ministers-designate will take their oaths of office in the council chambers of the Presidential Villa.

The swearing-in ceremony will begin at 10:00 a.m. and the ministers-designate are expected to be seated in the council chambers by 09:30 a.m.

Also, following the confirmation of their nominations by the Senate, Buhari will, on Monday, preside over the swearing-in of Professor Mahmood Yakubu as Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and five others as National Commissioners of INEC.

The swearing-in of Prof. Yakubu, Mrs. Amina Zakari, Mr. Solomon Adedeji Soyebi, Prof. Antonia Taiye Okoosi-Simbine, Dr. Muhammed Mustafa Lecky and Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo is scheduled for 11:00 a.m. in the council chambers of the Presidential Villa.

Share on Google Plus


Post a Comment

Thanks For Visiting My Blog...